Rowan Nordic Garland Knit A Long

garland 3

Welcome back!   I’m so pleased you’ve popped by!  Here are the details of mine and Anne from Life Lackadaisical’s “home made Christmas challenge” knit-a-long just in case you’d like to follow our progress or join in too or maybe even share some photos of your own Christmas knits with us?

So… using the Nordic Garland pattern from the Rowan Easy Fairisle Knits book that I mentioned yesterday, our challenge for December is to knit our Nordic Garlands ready for Christmas with both garlands finished ready for Christmas Day.

Starting on 1 December, my knitting buddy Anne will be attempting to knit a tree a day with a goal of 25 trees by December 25.  I’m going to be knitting the garland pretty much as illustrated in the Easy Fairisle Knits book as shown below, so I’m aiming for 15 trees… although I may do more if I find the time and I’m hoping to knit the I-cord as I go along.  I know its certainly a busy time of year but this pattern is straightforward, super cute and the little trees are super addictive….. so I think its going to be lots of fun 🙂

We’ll be sharing our photos and regular updates on our blogs, Facebook pages, Twitter and Instagram using the hashtag #RowanNordicGarland and we hope you might like to join us and share your photos using the same # if you’d like to take part or use it to share your own Christmas knitting projects with us too 🙂

IMG_1607.JPG

IMG_1581.JPG

IMG_1605.JPG

IMG_1588.JPG
So here’s my first tree…. there are 3 designs – this is the plain garter stitch version and the other 2 designs have a touch of fairisle.  If you’d like to join us, or would just like to see how we get on with our “home made Christmas challenge” follow us using #RowanNordicGarland and share your photos and progress of any other Christmas knits you’re making with us too.  We’d love to hear from you 🙂

Links:

Rowan Yarns Easy Fairisle Knits by Martin Storey;

Martin Storey on Facebook

Rowan Felted Tweed DK – view the 28 shades on Rowan’s Website

Knitandpurlgarden Facebook Page and Instagram

Life Lackadaisical Blog, Facebook Page and Instagram

Happy Christmas knitting!
Claire xx

 

11 thoughts on “Rowan Nordic Garland Knit A Long

  1. Judy

    These look so effective & will brighten up any room or tree you hardly have need for baubles! I would like to join your KAL but am already knitting Martin’s afghan.

    Reply
  2. Knitted Pink

    This is going to be sooo Christmassy! I’m very tempted to join in and may go now to sort through all my felted tweed ……. this is perfect for all those leftovers that I didn’t know what to do with before! x

    Reply
  3. Pingback: A Nordic Garland Christmas | Knit and Purl Garden

Thanks so much for visiting! Do leave a comment, I read them all and would love to hear from you. Claire xx