Martin Storey Knit-a-Long 2

Exciting news! – the new Martin Storey Knit-a-Long 2 launches tomorrow, with motifs, textures and colours based on Northern European knitting traditions including the knitted textures and fairisle patterns of the Shetland Isles; the Faeroe Isles; Norway, Denmark, Sweden and Iceland.  More details here:

Martin Storey KAL 2

I’ve chosen the blue colourway for my blanket, which uses the following Pure Wool Superwash Worsted yarn: Light Navy 153 x1 ball; Breton 147 x3 balls; Light Denim 154 x 5 balls; Electric 143 x3 balls; Lovat 161 x2 balls; Ocean 145 x3 balls; Mallard 144 x2 balls; Topaz 160 x2 balls.

knit a long 2

You might have guessed from previous projects that blue is one of my favourite colours and I’m really looking forwards to knitting with all of these fantastic shades.  In addition to blue, there are three other classic tonal palettes that you can choose: soft and natural; fresh evergreen or zingy spice to suit your mood and home.

knit a long 3

There will be eight square release stages in total, with a square being released each fortnight (48 squares in total) and a final and ninth release on 12th May 2016 featuring the edging design.

You can also listen to Martin talk about the KAL on You Tube here: Martin Storey KAL 2 You Tube Interview  I’m looking forward to seeing everyone’s progress and I hope to share some more photos on my blog and facebook page too.  Needles ready!

Claire x

5 thoughts on “Martin Storey Knit-a-Long 2

  1. Judy Concannon

    Hi Claire,
    I love your photos as always a pleasure to see! I have opted for the warm Spice colourway,as we will be redecorating our breakfast room this Spring & we have chosen very neutral shades with a bright feature wall on the chimney breast, so the warmth of the Spice shades will really enhance it!
    Looking forward to seeing your posts n progress over the coming weeks,
    Love Judy xx

    Reply
    1. Knit and Purl Garden Post author

      Thanks Judy, that sounds fabulous. I’m still quite taken with the calm colourway for myself though 😉 I always find it difficult to choose! I just watched the you tube video and it was nice to see the actual blanket and how it all ties together 🙂
      xx

      Reply
  2. Judy Concannon

    Yes me too! ! Good video, as we see how some of the colourways actually look this time.
    I toyed with the Calm colourway too, but my other afghan has 4 of those shades in it, so I fancied a change
    Happy knitting!!…I’m counting down the hours until tomorrow morning, oohh bet I won’t sleep tonight!
    Love Judy xx

    Reply
  3. angie

    Hello everyone!

    I’m doing the blue colourway, finished my first square today. I was wondering if blocking each square as I finish them is a good idea or even necessary. This is my first squares blanket ever!

    Thank you,

    Angie

    Reply
    1. Knit and Purl Garden Post author

      Hi Angie, it’s up to you really. When I did the last Martin Storey KAL I left all of the blocking to the end but wished I’d done it in batches as I’d gone along. I think this time I will try and be organised and block each batch/stage as I finish it. Then sizes of squares can be checked and all ready to do the sewing up at the end 🙂 good luck with the KAL, I’m loving the blue shades xx

      Reply

Thanks so much for visiting! Do leave a comment, I read them all and would love to hear from you. Claire xx