Merry Christmas

Hello friends, just popping by to wish you a merry Christmas and a very happy and healthy 2016.  2015 hasn’t been the easiest of years with family health issues to deal with so I’ve had less knitting time than usual.  I’ve just been finishing off a few projects including Trent which I’ve knitted for my husband in Rowan Yarns Brushed Fleece, just in time for Christmas despite having to knit three sleeves! The first sleeve disappeared and I have no idea where it went so I had to buy more yarn and start again… luckily it was a quick and easy knit 😉  Here it is unblocked, but you get the general idea and it was the perfect cosy garment to wear whilst walking the dogs in the woods today.

IMG_9842

IMG_9871IMG_9863

IMG_8156

IMG_9845

If you haven’t knitted with Brushed Fleece before, I’d definitely recommend it.  Its a very light and super soft blend of extra fine merino wool and baby alpaca with a soft marl colour effect.  The colour my husband chose for Trent is called Peat 262.  You can view the Brushed Fleece collection on Rowan’s website which includes 16 knits for men and women including wraps, shrugs, capes, sweater dresses and cardigans designed by Martin Storey.

Hope to be back soon with some more ‘finished knits’ and I’m also going to sign up for the second Martin Storey Knit-a-Long starting on 28th January; details here:   http://www.knitrowan.com/news/martin-storey-knit-along-2-%E2%80%93-official-announcement-image  What are everyone’s knitting plans for next year?

Merry Christmas and see you in 2016! xx

 

15 thoughts on “Merry Christmas

  1. Val Finnegan

    Thanks for the catch up, lovely jumper. I am knitting a wedding shawl for my youngest daughter who gets married next year. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas. Val x

    Reply
  2. Judy Concannon

    Lovely as always Claire!& I have missed your posts very much this year☺I have had & still have similar problems in my family & haven’t knitted all the stuff I promised to myself this yr either..but will be joining the new Martin Storey KAL next month. ..which colourway are you going for?
    Wishing you a very happy Christmas!
    Love Judy ☺🎅xx

    Reply
    1. Knit and Purl Garden Post author

      Thank you Judy!! I’ve chosen the blues colour way (no change there! 😂) wishing you and your family a magical Christmas! Looking forward to seeing blanket progress, did I see that you’d chosen the calm colour way? Xx

      Reply
      1. Judy Concannon

        Hi Claire,
        Yes I have posted that I was going to do the Calm colourway, but my other Martin KAL is more or less those same shades & I do live ghe Spice shades! So still deciding as I will pre order from Colourway.
        Have a goid Christmas too & will look forward to knitting alongside you in January!
        Xxxx

  3. Anne

    Great sweater Claire! I just finished a sweater…had to knit three sleeves also…the first one was ripped out so many times I worried about the yarn 🙂 Crochet isn’t my forté 🙂 Merry Christmas!

    Reply

Thanks so much for visiting! Do leave a comment, I read them all and would love to hear from you. Claire xx