Stainsby – a Sweater in Alpaca Colour

036022 023 Hurrah – I’ve finally finished Stainsby from the Rowan Alpaca Colour Collection.  I started knitting this jumper at Easter, then put it aside to take part in the Rowan Mystery Afghan Knit-a-Long over the summer and after a big break, finished it off ready to wear this autumn.  It was worth the wait – I’m seriously smitten with this yarn!  Its so soft to the touch, and comes in a gorgeous palette of colours, with beautifully subtle colour changes which really give this yarn its special quality and character.  I can honestly say that it was a joy to knit with and is a joy to wear. I did make a few modifications to the pattern.  I lengthened the body, and when the jumper was ready to assemble, I decided to pick up the stitches and knit the neckline in the round.  I’ve also chosen to leave welts, cuffs and neckband as they are rather than fold to the fold line as you’ll see in Rowan’s picture below. stainsby I also used Garnet 139 for the cuffs and neckline rather than Topaz 143.  I decided to stick with Graphite 142 for the body as I love the colour and it fits in well with my wardrobe.   However, now I’ve finished this knit, I’m really tempted to be a little more adventurous and check out some of the other colours too.  Check out the full colour range here.  Am seriously drooling over these…. alpacacolour alpacacolour2

Rowan has updated its Alpaca Colour range this autumn/winter 2014 with 4 new shades: Jade 136, Jewel 144 (a gorgeous red which is quite Christmassy!), Marble 145 and Precious 147.

The Alpaca Colour Collection features 17 designs by Rowan designer Lisa Richardson.  Rowan describes this collection as a “story of textured knits – cables, lace, bobbles and openwork stiches in a variety of easy to wear modern shapes, including fitted jackets and tunics, wrap-around cover-ups and slouchy sweaters“.  The art work is worth checking out in this brochure aside from the gorgeous designs….

My friend and Rowan Ambassador Linda has also knitted Stainsby but in a different colour scheme – she is my “Stainsby twin” – we both discovered we were wearing our jumpers on the same day this week!  Do pop over to Linda’s blog Knitted Pink to check out Linda’s version – she also has some fabulous other projects to share: http://knittedpink.wordpress.com

So onto my next project…what will it be?  Well, I’ve started playing with some of Rowan’s scrummy new Fazed Tweed….   What are your plans for this season? Has anyone started making things for Christmas yet?

Claire xx

15 thoughts on “Stainsby – a Sweater in Alpaca Colour

  1. Knitted Pink

    I love that we are Stainsby twins Claire 🙂 How cool is that?
    Your Stainsby is gorgeous and I agree completely that Alpaca Colour it just gorgeous to knit with. I’ll definitely make something else with it x

    Reply
  2. Isla Of Axholme

    No Christmas knitting / crochet for me at the mo. I do want to start a Christmas tree base cover (crochet) and I’ve just started tin can Knits vivid blanket for a new family member due to arrive at the end of jan!

    Reply
    1. Knit and Purl Garden Post author

      I’ve been looking at a Christmas few ideas in magazines – maybe I’ll get around to making the little knitted trees I spotted last year. Would make a lovely garland. I just checked out the TCN vivid blanket – lovely – it’ll make a beautiful gift for a January baby 🙂 thanks for popping by my blog x

      Reply
      1. Judy

        Your sweater is beautiful Claire. Now that’s something else added to my to do list! How does the yarn feel against your skin, is it soft or do you need to wear something under it?

      2. Knit and Purl Garden Post author

        I’ve worn it with a short sleeved t-shirt underneath and it was very comfy. The wool is very soft and there was no irritation around the neckline either. I’ve also worn it with a long sleeved t-shirt which looks quite good with the sweater’s 3/4 length sleeves 🙂

  3. Sherry Yoder

    Oh how I love reading your blog and viewing your projects. Your sweater and color choice is scrumptious. It will be a bit before I venture into such an endeavor. Do you have suggestions for a beginning knitter for fun little Christmas projects/gifts?

    Kindly,
    Sherry

    Reply
    1. Knit and Purl Garden Post author

      Hi Sherry, thank you for your kind words about my blog – you have brightened my day 🙂 xx
      If you’re looking to knit quick and easy Christmas gifts take a look at the new Rowan Big Accessories book which is great for beginner knitters. I’ve just returned from a family trip to London where Rowan’s Wool Week Cowls were on display in John Lewis – they look gorgeous, easy and super quick to knit in gorgeous Rowan Big Wool and you can down load the patterns for free from Rowan’s website. They would make great gifts 🙂
      http://www.knitrowan.com/designs-and-patterns/patterns/wool-week-cowls

      Reply

Thanks so much for visiting! Do leave a comment, I read them all and would love to hear from you. Claire xx

