Thick ‘n’ Thin Review

I get the impression that Rowan’s new autumn/winter collection is causing quite a stir in the knitting world at the moment!  I’m in love with virtually every brochure and have a BIG wish list of things that I would love to knit this season.   Early autumn has to be one of my favourite times of the year and although I am extremely grateful for all of the beautiful sunshine we have been having here in the UK lately, I do love the “season of mists and mellow fruitfulness” and I get so excited at the thought of all of those cosy autumnal knits to wear in the crisp autumn air.

First up for review at Knit and Purl Garden this season is Rowan’s Thick ‘n’ Thin Collection by Sarah Hatton featuring 14 designs for women.

“The rustic and textured inspired knits within the Thick ‘n’ Thin collection reflect this seasons runway trend for outerwear and accessory hand knits.  The collection combines the character and colourful nature of the new yarn with chunky knit stitches, such as ribbing, cabling and weave textures, creating a collection of easy to wear and easy to knit designs.”

Thick&Thin Brochure

Corona Hooded Scarf (cover photo):

caronaT&T

I’m sure that Rowan’s new Thick ‘n’ Thin yarn is going to be extremely popular.  Its a great choice for beginner knitters as it knits up really quickly on chunky needles and there are some fabulous patterns.  It will also appeal to those knitters looking for a quick fashion fix – there are some great accessories in the new Collection.  There is also great potential for knitting up a few gifts for – shhh – dare I mention the word in July – Christmas!?  Always good to plan ahead…

The new yarn comes in some great colours: pumice, marble, soapstone, pyrite, shale, granite, flint, dolomite, basalt and greenstone.  The Thick ‘n’ Thin feature of this yarn gives the knitted fabric a unique textured finish, made from 100% wool that is ideal for accessories or to add definition to any knitted sweater.

ThicknThinshades

I’ve just finished knitting the Satellite Cowl.  It was easy to knit, I LOVE it and I know its going to get a LOT of wear!

Satellite Cowl

Here’s my cowl in the gorgeous blue shade Dolomite (968):

009

011

012

I am SO in LOVE with this colour!

Here are a few of my favourite designs from the Collection:

Solstice:

SolsticeT&T

Aurora:

AuroraT&T

Nova:

NovaT&T

Satellite Scarf:

satellitescarfT&T

Orbit:

orbitT&T

And some more gorgeous designs:

Meteor:

meteorT&T

Umbra:

umbraT&T

Nebula:

nebulaT&T

Flare:

flareT&T

Cosmos:

533637_10151404645682424_298978973_n

Comet:

cometT&T

Zenith:

zenithT&T

So there you have it: Thick ‘n’ Thin : whats not to love!?

Let me know if you try Thick ‘n’ Thin out – I would love to hear your thoughts.

Claire xx

4 thoughts on “Thick ‘n’ Thin Review

  1. Pingback: On my blog today : Emily Platt of Lost in Knit | Knit and Purl Garden

Thanks so much for visiting! Do leave a comment, I read them all and would love to hear from you. Claire xx

