Summer Linen Clutch Bag: Rowan All Seasons Chunky

This week up for review, its Rowan’s new yarn All Seasons Chunky.

086

This chunky weight yarn was launched by Rowan for the 2013 Spring/Summer Season.  Composed of a machine washable 60% cotton and 40% acrylic microfibre, it’s a lovely yarn; soft and light enough to wear for any season.

Rowan very kindly gave me a ball of this super new yarn to try out:

260

I really enjoyed knitting with it : I have to agree with Rowan that this new yarn certainly shows beautiful stitch definition.  It knits up very quickly which is very satisfying.  I also got to try out some of my favourite chunky knitting needles!  (the ball band recommends US 10.5 (UK 2) knitting needles).

Next I decided to experiment with some crochet.  I used a 6.5mm crochet hook.

213

With one ball of yarn to play with, and inspired by the final of the Great British Sewing Bee, I thought I would make a crocheted clutch bag for the summer with a pretty ‘shell stitch’.  The ‘pebble’ colour of the yarn went beautifully with some linen that I had in my stash and some gorgeous Amy Butler fabric from her Soul Blossoms collection for Rowan.

241

I made a simple linen clutch bag lined with the Amy Butler fabric and hand stitched the crochet to the outside.

second attempt 004

Let me know what you think…?

second attempt 003

second attempt 005

second attempt 001

second attempt 006

There are some beautiful knitting patterns in the All Seasons Chunky Brochure reflecting the trend for relaxed summer knitwear.  Marie Wallin has designed 12 simple textured easy to wear knits that are “simple to knit and are perfect for whiling away lazy summer days and warm sultry evenings”.  Check out this post for some examples, or have a look at Rowan Yarn’s Pinterest Board.

All Seasons Chunky is available in some really gorgeous colours:

All Seasons Chunky

Foam, pebble, powder, drift, shore, dune, reach, cove, heatwave, jetsam, stoney, samphire, flotsam and whirlpool…

Are you tempted? Let me know if you are! I would love to hear from you 🙂

Happy summer knitting (or crocheting)!

XX

29 thoughts on “Summer Linen Clutch Bag: Rowan All Seasons Chunky

  1. Joy

    You have made a sweet little bag there, rather special! I wanted to also mention how impressed I am with your lovely even tension on your knitting. That looks like a lovely yarn and great natural shade. Thank you for a lovely post! Joy x

    Reply
  2. Kristen

    So pretty, what a great idea for one skein! I am loving the All Seasons Chunky, even though I’m not generally a chunky fan. It’s easy going to knit, and I love the way it looks with the crochet.

    Reply
  3. kate0795

    Lovely clutch bag and the shell pattern you’ve crocheted is really pretty in that yarn….it shows off the stitch really well. I’m about to start a granny shrug using a Debbie Bliss Rialto DK in a lovely steel grey. The other colours in your yarn are gorgeous…remind me of ice cream some of them. The pattern I’m using originally was made using a chunky yarn but I’ve seen it using 8 ply with a 4mm hook so thought I’d try with a DK. A winter version would be lovely in the Rowan you’ve used. Is it expensive?
    Kate x

    Reply
    1. Knit and Purl Garden Post author

      Thanks Kate! Your granny shrug sounds nice. Which pattern is it? There are some really gorgeous Debbie Bliss yarns aren’t there… I think the RRP for the Rowan All Seasons Chunky is £6.95 (for 85m / 93 yards) – I totally agree about the colours – ice cream – definitely! Xx

      Reply
      1. kate0795

        Hi Claire,
        Here’s the link to the pattern
        http://www.australqualityproducts.com.au/Lara/Granny.pdf and I originally saw a finished version on another blog with the link http://www.thegreendragonfly.wordpress.com although I’m doing with a DK like Janette did – it appears to have kimono style sleeves which I adore – I love the pistachio green colour in the Rowan chunky you’ve pictured….not sure what it’s proper name is??! I do love it when they give the yarn colours names rather than numbers! Kate x

      2. Knit and Purl Garden Post author

        Ooh that shrug looks gorgeous! I love to know the names of yarn colours too, so much better than just numbers! The green is called “Samphire”. I’m lucky – I have a chart! 🙂 The yarns in the ASC range seem to have names inspired by the seaside – pebble, drift, shore, dune, cove… Lovely 🙂
        Xx

      3. kate0795

        Isn’t it gorgeous?? Do you think you’ll make one?! I thought the names of those Rowan yarns were seasidey (is that a word?!) inspired….right up my street then as I live by the sea….and I adore samphire!! we were picking that in Brittany last year when we were camping and had it for supper….delicious!! though I don’t live in Brittany, just for the record (I wish!) Kate xx

Thanks so much for visiting! Do leave a comment, I read them all and would love to hear from you. Claire xx

