Its a Spring Thing (and a doily addiction…)

Spring seems to have sprung all over blogland today and I’ve certainly been inspired by all of the lovely photos and bright Spring colours popping up on the internet.  I’ve had a small stash of candy coloured cotton 4-ply yarn that has been calling out to me for a while now and having seen lots of doilies and similar pretty lacy crochet patterns on the internet I had to give it a go…

037
I started off with some Rowan Siena 4ply in light pink and the Victoria Doily pattern in Jane Crowfoot’s book Homespun Vintage.  Jane describes in her book how, following the popularity of crochet during the Victorian era, the 1950s to 1970s saw its revival again (it went into something of a decline during the two world wars possibly as a result of rationing and the difficulty in sourcing yarns), with lacy patterns and doily work suddenly becoming very popular.

Here’s my finished doily (ravelled here); it seemed to look right at home alongside my vintage sheet patchwork blanket…

004

Jane talks about the delicacy of crochet work in a doily replicating the look of lace making the perfect table decoration.  Any excuse to get baking and get the vintage china out…

008

A close up of the excellent Lemon Drizzle Cake (made by Miss E, not me I confess): yummy!:

012

I’d also wanted to make these pretty little coasters for quite some time (see the free pattern over on the Yvestown Blog):

016

Ooops: they seemed to multiply quickly and before I knew it I had a whole stack (Ravelled here):

037  042

046  052

I think these coasters would also make rather a nice Mothers Day card, with the addition of a sweet little bit of fabric backing:

066

On the lacy crochet theme, I thought you might like to see these lovely little containers from Ikea.  They’re meant for plants but I bought them for a couple of pounds each and they’re just the job for keeping knitting needles and crochet hooks in:

022  026

Loving the Ikea lilac too; I wish we had a lilac tree in our garden:

029

I spotted some real Spring flowers in the garden today too:

072

Happy Springtime! x

6 thoughts on “Its a Spring Thing (and a doily addiction…)

Thanks so much for visiting! Do leave a comment, I read them all and would love to hear from you. Claire xx

