Vintage Sheet and Crochet Valentine Heart

At our recent valentine themed craft group evening I couldn’t decide whether to knit, crochet or sew!  I ended up crocheting a sweet little heart from a pattern that a kind friend brought along from Bella Dia but in my mind, an idea was forming to create a little heart that combined both fabric and yarn and today I decided to put my plan into action….

I rummaged around in my stash of fabrics and found a cute little pile of sweet vintage sheet fat quarters that I had been saving for just the right project, bought from Donna Flower at the Christmas Vintage Fair in Frome.  The perfect companion : my little stash of Adriafil crochet cotton.

072

I printed out a heart shaped template from the internet.  I cut out my heart shaped pieces from my vintage sheet fabric and sewed them together, and stuffed the heart.  Now for the fun bit, creating a crochet border.

103

First, I sewed in chain stitch all around the outside of the heart, to form a basis from which to crochet:

089

Then I played around for a bit with my hook and yarn until I had created a suitably pretty crochet border.   Next, I crocheted a chain to hang the heart from and attached it to the heart:

106

It looked extra sweet with a little crochet flower embellishment:

094

Time for a cuppa and some valentine cupcakes:

084  079

I hope that you are having fun with any valentine crafting that you are doing?

Happy Valentine’s Day!

2 thoughts on “Vintage Sheet and Crochet Valentine Heart

Thanks so much for visiting! Do leave a comment, I read them all and would love to hear from you. Claire xx

